Song Analysis Week 4: Pluto Projector

Dari Johnson
3 min readFeb 9, 2021

--

Rex Orange County released his third album Pony on October 25, 2019. The album includes tracks such as “10/10”, “Always”, and “It Gets Better”. A song that particularly stood out to me was, “Pluto Projector”. The song displays a sweet almost love letter like structure. The music and orchestral breaks are wonderful.

“Pluto Projector” starts with the lyrics, “The great protector, Is that what I’m supposed to be?, What if all this counts for nothing, Everything I thought I’d be?, What if by the time I realize, It’s too far behind to see?”. These lyrics show the singer overthinking his relationship and feeling as though he is not enough for his partner. Next, are the lyrics, “Seventy-mil projector, I can show you everything yeah, And we’re on our way to glory, Where the show won’t ever end, And the encore lasts forever, And it’s time we’re due to spend”. The second half means that he sees himself as not only a protector but a projector. Referring to the projections of the thoughts in his head, meaning he’s willing to open up to his partner about things he’s always kept inside. Describing himself as a projector also shows the developed trust and connection between his partner.

Verse two opens with the lyrics, “Spending the years together, Growing older every day, I feel at home when I’m around you, And I’ll gladly say again, I hope the encore lasts forever”. This starts to develop the idea that he wants to spend many years with his lover. He wants to spend the rest of his life with and marry them. The next lyrics are, “Now there’s time for us to spend, And it’s, sublime with you my friend, This right here still feels like a honeymoon, When you say my name, nothing’s changed, I’m still a boy inside my thoughts, Am I meant to understand my faults?” These lyrics just add to the strength of the relationship. His partner feels like home, and makes him feel young and old at the same time. He wants them forever and wants that feeling forever.

On to the chorus, “I don’t think so, I don’t think I’m meant to understand myself, Maybe you do, And that’s good for you, Maybe in time, Maybe one day, I’ll do the same” He is starting to overthink again. He explains how he doesn’t understand himself completely and has a lot of growing to do. Rex acknowledges that his partner does understand him fully and he hopes one day he can be like them in that aspect. Next in the song we arrive at the orchestral arrangement. I’ve interpreted this as how Rex hears his relationship and this is what falling in love sounds like.

The song concludes with the lyrics, “Stay forever, you know more than anyone, And it’s you that knows my darkness, And you know my bedroom needs, You could blast me and my secrets, But there’s probably just no need”. This is Rex pleading for his lover to stay with him forever. They know every little thing about him and that’s scary. He’s terrified of losing them because they are his best friend but they could also destroy them if they wanted to.

The emotions developed throughout this song are impeccable. This song makes me feel things I never have before. Whether it’s through the instrumentals or powerful lyrics, the feelings evoked are what make this song so special.

--

--