Song Analysis Week 10: Fine Line

Dari Johnson
4 min readApr 3, 2021

--

“Fine Line” by Harry Styles, is the most meaningful song in the world. It is full of deeper meaning and metaphors. This is the title track and closing song of the album. The need for balance between the highs and lows of love and life are the main topics of the song. Harry described the song by saying, “What I hadn’t really experienced before during the making of this record, the times when I felt good and happy were the happiest I’ve ever felt in my life. And the times when I felt sad were the lowest that I’ve ever felt in my life.” This song has deeply resonated with me since the very first time I heard it. Horns, guitars, piano, and strings all accompany Styles’ astounding voice. The trumpet section of the song is my favorite part. It gives a feeling of content, loneliness, and hopefulness. To explain the epic outro, Styles says, “It started simple, but I wanted to have this big epic outro thing. And it just took shape as this thing where I thought, ‘That’s just like the music I want to make.’ I love strings, I love horns, I love harmonies — so why don’t we just put all of that in there?” “Fine Line” is without a doubt Harry’s best song.

The first verse begins with, “Put a price on emotion, I’m looking for something to buy, You’ve got my devotion, But man, I can hate you sometimes”. Harry expresses how he is feeling numb. At this point in his life he would pay to feel anything at all. He is devoted to his relationship and lover. However, he is scared to love because he fears getting hurt again. Those feelings of fear get confused with a feeling of hate. It continues with, “I don’t want to fight you, And I don’t want to sleep in the dirt, We’ll get the drinks in, So I’ll get to thinking of her”. Styles is talking directly to love and the idea of love. Love can hurt him but also bring him joy. However, he does not want to have to suffer in order to feel love.

The chorus repeats the phrase, “We’ll be a fine line” over and over. The album as a whole tells the story of how Harry has lived and dealt with a specific relationship. Harry references this relationship in the phrase above meaning, ‘what’s done is done, it could’ve been worse, it could have been better, but it’s over and I’ve learnt from it.’ “Fine Line,” can also be a phrase used to express the good moments and low points of a life or relationship thus far.

The second verse starts off with, “Test of my patience, There’s things that we’ll never know, You sunshine, you temptress, My hand’s at risk, I fold”. Harry is saying how this person has such an affect on him he may say things that he’s never told anyone else before. But, when he talks to them they tempt him and make him want to share himself. He’s spilling his heart out but trying to play it cool. It continues with, “Crisp trepidation, I’ll try to shake this soon, Spreading you open, Is the only way of knowing you”. Trepidation exists due to his inability to openly communicate. He is fearful of his feelings and wants to shake them off. Harry makes his voice stronger as he sings the second half of the verse. He feels passionately about his words. Harry faces troubles using his words, so he feels that the only way to connect with his partner is through sexual actions. It’s a very vulnerable thing, however verbal vulnerability is a whole new level of trust.

In the outro the phrase, “We’ll be alright,” is repeated. The song then ends with a beautiful orchestral and horn arrangement. This phrase is repeated as a reassurance to Harry himself, and his partner, and the listeners. He wants everyone to know that despite the highs and lows that he has, and that we all experience, you eventually end up alright.

I can’t wait until I get to go to a concert again, and witness a crowd of people all screaming the lyrics, “We’ll be alright”. That moment will be the peak of my existence.

--

--